Victim Blaming

People shouldn’t be so concerned about being cool or fitting in by acting a certain way.  I say, forget being cool. Try being a decent human being. Now, in my humble opinion, one of the most indecent things to do is rape someone. Rape is about the furthest thing from decent that you can get. But you want to hear something worse? Blaming the victim for being raped. If you’re going to do that, do not even talk to me. 

Image

 

You don’t know how sick I am of hearing that the victim was “asking for it” by the way she or he was dressed or was acting. In fact, I’m pretty sure if I hear that idiotic excuse one more time, I’m going to scream until my lungs bleed! What does someone’s clothes or attitude have to do with anything? No one-and I mean no one-is asking for the physical and mental pain and trauma that comes from the whole ordeal. That is just complete and utter BS.

Here, let me give you a scenario. Someone gets brutally murdered one night. Some guy named Jimmy. He kind of looks like a “Bob”, but his name is Jimmy. Anyway, Jimmy’s just been disemboweled while walking home with his groceries. It’s pretty brutal. His blood and innards are everywhere. Gutted like a fish. No one knows who did it. Now, if someone’s being interviewed on the evening news about poor old Jimmy, are they going to say “Well, Jimmy should have known better. I mean, that’s what the guy gets for just walking around with his organs all vulnerable. He should have had a protective suit of armor on!”? Unless the interviewee is a completely heartless person, I’m going to have to go with no. Of course this isn’t the exact same situation. But more or less, you get my point.

Kadiesha Evans 007

Leave a Reply

