Princesses, “Soul Mates”, and Other Thoughts

Wow

I find opinions to be so remarkable. You can absolutely hate someone that you used to idolize in the matter of seconds or feel the same way about your favorite food for years. A change in opinion can be so quick or gradual that you hardly even notice it’s changed.

I’m still not quite sure when my opinion on relationships changed, but I really wish it hadn’t.

When I was in elementary school, my friends and I would watch Disney movies. Everyone would say how they couldn’t wait to be like the princesses. Not because they were royalty, but because they wanted to find their prince. Personally, I was usually focusing on how cool and scary the villains were.

Don’t get me wrong. I did have my little crushes. I’ll have you know that I had a boyfriend in first grade. Hm. Now that I think of it, I don’t remember ever breaking up. Wow, we were really in this for the long haul.

Anyway, at some point in middle school, something happened. I needed a boyfriend. If I didn’t have one, I would be a total loser and no one would ever love me and I’d end up alone forever. These thoughts went through my head every second of every day. I was twelve. Twelve.

To some extent, I felt the same way throughout high school. I met a boy my junior year. He was cute, we shared the same interests, and he was in a band. I just knew he was my soul mate. There was only one flaw; he didn’t see me as anything more than a friend. I held on to the hope that he would change his mind until I graduated this past May. To tell the truth, I’m still not completely over it.

I just want to know why girls have to feel this way. What happens that makes us feel like we need to have a boyfriend. We need to get married. We need to start a family. Why don’t we learn that we need to love ourselves?

Kadiesha Evans 007

Leave a Reply

