Miss Representation

Image

In my Women Studies class we watch a documentary called Miss Representation filmed by Jennifer Newsom. In the documentary it exposes how media contributes to the under representation of women in powerful positions and influences in America. This was not my first time watching this documentary or having a discussion about the under representation in the media but for some reason this time had an impact on me. After watching this documentary the next morning I took a look in the mirror to examine myself.  Needless to say I to have been shaped by the media way more than I imaged, it was obvious. I could tell by the way I wore my hair, my choice of clothing, how it fit on my body, even the type of shoes I had displayed that I was a victim of this ongoing pandemic.

When the topic of miss representation cross my mind I begin to silently hear Unpretty, a song by the R&B group TLC. This songs talk about girls’ inner beauty.  The chorus of the songs is what  stands out the most to me “You can buy your hair if it won’t grow, You can fix your nose if you say so, You can buy all the makeup that M.A.C can make, but if you can look inside you, find out who am I too.” In the video there are clips of young girls compromising their health and principles for beauty. For some reason I did not think I was one of “those girls” but I am. I don’t wear my real hair and it’s not because I am ashamed of it, I just like long hair. And when I did wear my hair it was not in its natural state, I got relaxers to straighten my kinks. I never question wear I got it from it was just something black people did. In media you hardly ever see African American women with their natural hair, its usually long pretty hair that is sew in. That image is what is normally saw in the media, is a blonde European girl with long hair.

Girls of all ages are seeing less of themselves and more of some photo shop model. This is a direct result of how the media makes women feel inadequate.  They put emphasis on unrealistic women who are absolutely flawless. When was the last time you seen a women on the cover of a magazine in her natural state, the answer to that would be never. Natural beauty is not what the media wants.  And they are willing to go to any extreme to create an image that will make them the most profit.

In the entertainment world women are just a pretty face and a perfect body. This has made the people who are living in the real world to have an entertainment world mind frame. They see women a sex symbol for their unrealistic desires. This makes it hard for women who are more than their body and face. Women who have goals and morals, and want to be respected, this is the reason why you never see powerful women in the media.  

 

In my Women Studies class we watch a documentary called Miss Representation filmed by Jennifer Newsom. In the documentary it exposes how media contributes to the under representation of women in powerful positions and influences in America. This was not my first time watching this documentary or having a discussion about the under representation in the media but for some reason this time had an impact on me. After watching this documentary the next morning I took a look in the mirror to examine myself.  Needless to say I to have been shaped by the media way more than I imaged, it was obvious. I could tell by the way I wore my hair, my choice of clothing, how it fit on my body, even the type of shoes I had displayed that I was a victim of this ongoing pandemic.

When the topic of miss representation cross my mind I begin to silently hear Unpretty, a song by the R&B group TLC. This songs talk about girls’ inner beauty.  The chorus of the songs is what  stands out the most to me “You can buy your hair if it won’t grow, You can fix your nose if you say so, You can buy all the makeup that M.A.C can make, but if you can look inside you, find out who am I too.” In the video there are clips of young girls compromising their health and principles for beauty. For some reason I did not think I was one of “those girls” but I am. I don’t wear my real hair and it’s not because I am ashamed of it, I just like long hair. And when I did wear my hair it was not in its natural state, I got relaxers to straighten my kinks. I never question wear I got it from it was just something black people did. In media you hardly ever see African American women with their natural hair, its usually long pretty hair that is sew in. That image is what is normally saw in the media, is a blonde European girl with long hair.

Girls of all ages are seeing less of themselves and more of some photo shop model. This is a direct result of how the media makes women feel inadequate.  They put emphasis on unrealistic women who are absolutely flawless. When was the last time you seen a women on the cover of a magazine in her natural state, the answer to that would be never. Natural beauty is not what the media wants.  And they are willing to go to any extreme to create an image that will make them the most profit.

In the entertainment world women are just a pretty face and a perfect body. This has made the people who are living in the real world to have an entertainment world mind frame. They see women a sex symbol for their unrealistic desires. This makes it hard for women who are more than their body and face. Women who have goals and morals, and want to be respected, this is the reason why you never see powerful women in the media.  

 

-Kayla Odom 2010-002 

Leave a Reply

